European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth Mariya Gabriel has invited six high-level scientists to identify future members of the European Research Council's (ERC) governing body, the ERC Scientific Council. This Identification Committee will in particular focus on the continuation and renewal of the ERC Scientific Council in view of the start of Horizon Europe, the next EU research and innovation programme.

The Committee consists of six highly respected personalities in European research, one of which is Carl-Henrik Heldin, post-retirement professor at the Department of Medical Biochemistry and Microbiology, Uppsala University, and Chairman of the Board of the Nobel Foundation.

Read more on ERC's website: Top scientists to identify future members of European Research Council’s Scientific Council