Make the Zoom meeting more secure
You can use functions in Zoom to make the meeting a bit more secure. That will prevent some of the unwanted behaviors. but it will in the same time limit the meeting functions. It is a balance act you need to master, analyzing risks towards use. The answer will be different depending on what kind of meeting it is and who will be attending the meeting.
Use the app Signal instead of Zoom for confidential meetings with for examples patients or therapy sessions.
Functions in Zoom for higher security:
- Meeting password
- Waiting room
- Lock meeting, when all wanted participant have joined
- Only authenticated users can join. You can set allowed domains
There are 3 levels predesigned
1. All users with a Zoom account
2. Only users within UU Zoom domain
3. Only users within Sunet (all 'swedish universites and higher education scholls
+ those domains that you add.
Here is an instruction video
Subtitles in Swedish and English. Other languages by auto texting.
- Disable user right to
- Unmute themselves
- Start their video
- Use chat
- Share screen
- Rejoin the meeting when removed from it
The button "Security" makes it easy to adjust the settings for security.
A meeting between 2 participants are encrypted all the way between the 2. A meeting with more than 2 participants need to pass a bridge server that distributes the meeting content to every participant. The communication between a participant and the bridge server is encrypted but within the bridge server the communication are decrypted. Technicians at Nodunet might be able to see that communication as it flyes by. All communication in and out to the Internet are encrypted.
Join before host, OFF - Prevents participants to enter the meeting in advance of the host.
Mute participants upon entry. ON - Mute participants microphones at the start.
Private chat, OFF - Participants cannot chat between the two of them. Everything in the chat is sent to everyone.
Allow host to put attendee on hold, ON - Allows the host to temporarily park a participant outside the meeting. Participant on hold can not hear or see anything from the meeting.
Screen sharing, ON with "Host only" - Only the host can share the screen.
Disable desktop/screen share for users, ON - Participants cannot share their screen.
Annotation, OFF - Participants cannot annotate.
Remote control, OFF - No one can remote control any participants computer.
Allow removed participants to rejoin, OFF - A removed participant, by host, are prevented from joining the meeting again.
Waiting room, ON - At start, all participants are placed in the waiting room, waiting for the host to let them in to the meeting.
Use Personal Meeting ID (PMI) when scheduling a meeting, OFF - Do not use Personal Meeting ID
Allow participants to rename themselves, Unchecked/OFF - In a meeting, the host can prevent participants from editing their names. Anonymity is the ground for bad behavior.
Allow participants to unmute themselves, Unchecked/OFF - Prevents the participants from unmuting their microphones themselves..
Lock the meeting, Checked/ON - When the meeting is started and all expected participants have joined, the host can lock the meeting preventing anyone else from joining the meeting.
If you have questions, please ask IT-servicedesk by phone 4400 or by email email@example.com